Penfriend's Letterbox
Penfriend's Letterbox
Ep12: Bright Light Bright Light on surviving as an independent artist in a genre full of gatekeepers
0:00
-1:16:50

Ep12: Bright Light Bright Light on surviving as an independent artist in a genre full of gatekeepers

Thanks for listening! Visit the deluxe show notes with links to Rod's music and his artist recommendations at http://penfriend.rocks/brightlightbrightlight and get two free Penfriend tracks when you sign up.

-

Bright Light Bright Light is the moniker of Welsh-born, NYC living Rod Thomas, a singer, songwriter, producer, DJ and fully independent artist. A pop culture geek, his songs are inspired by 80's/90's cinema (hence the name), video games, TV moments and dance sequences. He's worked with Sir Elton John, Scissor Sisters, Alan Cumming and Erasure, and toured with Cher. His forthcoming album "Fun City" is a love letter to the LGBTQ+ community and features a long list of incredible LGBTQ+ collaborators including Andy Bell, Jake Shears, Justin Vivian Bond and Madonna's iconic backing singers Niki Haris and Donna De Lory.

-

This podcast is supported by Arts Council England and The National Lottery and powered by my Correspondent’s Club http://penfriend.rocks. Grab two months of free Skillshare classes on me - visit http://penfriend.rocks/skillshare for more.


Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

Discussion about this podcast

Penfriend's Letterbox
Penfriend's Letterbox
I'm Laura Kidd, an independent music producer, songwriter and visual artist based in Nottingham, UK, making music as Penfriend (formerly She Makes War and Obey Robots).
My mission is to encourage creativity in others by sharing my artistic process, plus thoughts on the philosophy of creativity.
In my first podcasting era 2019-2021 I interviewed 50 of my favourite artists and comedians for my "Attention Engineer" episodes. I asked nosey questions about creativity, grit and determination and received some surprising answers...
In 2024 I missed podcasting so much I decided to start sharing here in a different way. Subscribe to join me for the next part of this journey!