Penfriend's Letterbox
Penfriend's Letterbox
Celebrating a breadth of voices in music - Miki Berenyi (Piroshka / Lush)
0:00
-1:31:32

Celebrating a breadth of voices in music - Miki Berenyi (Piroshka / Lush)

Attention Engineer Episode 47

➡️ Read the episode transcript

Get my FREE 12-track album + 31-page zine

Content warning: this is a very joyfully sweary episode so probably not best listened to in the presence of kids.

About my guest: Miki Berenyi is a singer, songwriter and guitarist who first became known in the late ’80s and ’90s as a member of Lush, and currently makes music in Piroshka.

➡️ Get your copy of "Love Drips And Gathers" by Piroshka here.


In this conversation, we discuss:

  • how Miki was a huge inspiration for teenage wannabe-musician me

  • what it’s like for her starting a new band after 20 years out of the music world

  • how creative work *is* work…but that’s okay

  • escaping the cartoon image of “Miki from Lush”

  • our shared future in chilblain rock


Join The Correspondent's Club on Patreon and support future podcasts, music and videos ❤️

0 Comments
Penfriend's Letterbox
Penfriend's Letterbox
I'm Laura Kidd, an independent music producer, songwriter and visual artist based in Nottingham, UK, making music as Penfriend (formerly She Makes War and Obey Robots).
My mission is to encourage creativity in others by sharing my artistic process, plus thoughts on the philosophy of creativity.
In my first podcasting era 2019-2021 I interviewed 50 of my favourite artists and comedians for my "Attention Engineer" episodes. I asked nosey questions about creativity, grit and determination and received some surprising answers...
In 2024 I missed podcasting so much I decided to start sharing here in a different way. Subscribe to join me for the next part of this journey!